Next Round

Current Leaderboard

View The Current

Latest News


Nov 17, 2013

THREE TIME AUSTRALIAN Manufacturers Championship Driver Stuart Kostera is out to make amends after qualifying fastest for the final round of the AMChamps at Sandown Raceway yesterday.

The West Australian posted a sub-lap record time in the CXC Global Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X to head up the small but competitive line-up, and will be setting out to atone for a costly, if controversial error, at round two that cost he and co-driver Dylan Thomas victory at the Sydney Motorsport Park.

Kostera was able to out-point the father and son combination of Robert and Shane Marshall in their similar four-wheel drive Melbourne Performance Centre turbo with a third Evo, the entry of Garry Holt and Nathan Morcom finishing the grid-deciding session third overall, salvaged after a shock absorber failure in the second qualifier.

The withdrawal of the BMW 1M of Beric Lynton and Matt MacKelden has ensured that Holt has not only secured the outright drivers' championship but also the Class A Extreme Performance title. Engine woes have also ruled out the other M1, the Donut King BMW of Tony Alford and Peter Leemhuis.

In Class B for High Performance John Faulkner, returning after a lengthy absence from the top echelon of Australian Motor Sport, quickly adapted to the Lovton Coal Ford Falcon FPV GT of Michael Benton for a class pole and edged out the GWS Personnel BMW 335i of Peter O'Donnell and Garry Mennell which had to overcome turbo boost issues earlier in the day. While not in the same class due to licence requirements, the HSV Clubsport entry of Chris Slacksmith and Steve Briffa which qualified sixth overall is sure to give both grief.

Class C Performance Touring honours went to the Australian Auto Wreckers Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo at its debut in the hands of George Karadimas and Matt Lehmann, toppling the class championship contenders Adam Dodd/Chris Gough (West End Mazda 6 MPS) and Scott Gore/Anthony Kosseris (GWS Perosnnel BMW 130i).

While Class D for Production Touring is led by Mark Eddy and Francois Jouy in a Honda Integra, they are now racing in Class C aboard of Renault Megane, leaving the Pedders Toyota 86 GT of Andrew Turpie and Grant Phillips to duke it out with the Hankook Tyres Honda of Jake Williams and Geoff Rands. Meanwhile Class E for Compact Touring was going to be settled between team drivers Sarah Harley and Kevin Herben in qualifying. Right on the chequered flag of the second session Harley won out by just 0.04 seconds.

All that action can be seen on Speedweek, screening at a time to be advised on both SBS and Speed TV on Fox. There will be updates on Facebook ( and the website ( across the weekend.

1 Stuart Kostera (WA)/Dylan Thomas (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 1:19.7724
2 Shane Marshall (Vic)/Robert Marshall (Vic) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 1:20.2346
3 Garry Holt (NSW)/Nathan Morcom (NSW) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 1:21.0014
4 John Faulkner (Qld)/Michael Benton (Qld) Ford Falcon FPV GT 1:21.4543
5 Peter O'Donnell (NSW)/Garry Mennell (NSW) BMW 335i 1:21.9270
6 Steve Briffa (NSW)/Chris Slacksmith (NSW) Holden HSV GTS Clubsport 1:23.5051
7 Matt Lehmann (Vic)/George Karadimas (Vic) Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo 1:25.1446
8 Chris Gough (NSW)/Adam Dodd (NSW) Mazda 6 MPS 1:25.8600
9 Scott Gore (Qld)/Anthony Kosseris (NSW) BMW 130i 1:26.1304
10 Mark Eddy (Vic)/Francois Jouy (NSW) Renault Megane RS265 1:26.1578
11 Andrew Turpie (Vic)/Grant Phillips (Vic) Toyota 86 GTS 1:27.4472
12 Jake Williams (NSW)/Geoff Rands (NSW) Honda Integra Type R 1:27.6187
13 Sarah Harley (Qld)/Kevin Herben (NSW) Mazda 323 Astra 1:35.4845